JPOST: New Israel Allies Caucus formed in Africa on pro-Judeo-Christian values

Africa Caucus Chairmans Conf 2019

Three new Israel Allies caucuses have been formed in Africa by the Israel Allies Foundation (IAF). Each of the new caucuses are chaired by a leading parliamentarian, passionate about strengthening legislative support for Israel on the basis of Judeo-Christian values.

The network of parliamentary Israel Allies has recently expanded in Nigeria, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Congo Brazzaville, following the recent appointment of Bishop Scott Mwanza as the Africa Director of the IAF.

“We will work to seek out opportunities to propose resolutions and legislation in support for Israel and will stand firmly against any antisemitic and anti-Zionist activities," said MP Henriette Wamu Ataminia, chair of the DRC Parliamentary IAF caucus.

Some of these opportunities are already in the planning stages, their efforts led by IAF Africa director Bishop Scott Mwanza. One such example is a convention for representatives of all 11 Israel Allies Caucuses in Africa in order to increase diplomatic efforts in support of Israel. Issues such as development of support for Israel at the UN, and promoting the move of African embassies to Jerusalem.

“There is tremendous support for Israel in Christian countries across Africa. Through the work of our network of Israel Allies Caucuses in African parliaments we are about to see the full effect of faith-based diplomacy,” said Israel Allies Foundation president Josh Reinstein.

Founded in 2006, the IAF is dedicated to promoting communications between global members of parliament and legislators who share the belief that the State of Israel has the right to exist in peace, and with secure borders. The IAF coordinates the activities of over 40 Israel Allies caucuses around the world.

The Knesset Christian Allies Caucus was established in 2004, with the aim of opening direct line of communication among Knesset members, Christian leaders, and other various organizations and world political representatives. It currently consists of 16 Knesset members form seven different political parties.

Other Caucus leaders include MP Jeremy Lissouba, Chairman of the Congo Brazzaville Caucus, and MP Rev. Dr. Ossai Nicholas Ossai, Chairman of the Nigerian Parliamentary Israel Caucus.